amateur nerd’s English experience: the power of “e”

communicateTo keep my former English teacher updated regarding the fruit of her many faithful efforts in building a people (class) with some semblance of being educated (through the learning and correct use of English language), I would talk about my Dell PC keyboard and English writing today. During my previous posting to one of the poorest countries on earth, when one of the regular power outage struck while I was cooped up in a box-size room with my PC plugged into an extension cord on a pitch-black night, my first thought was to find the portable emergency light which was somewhere near the end of the bed. I tripped and fell with the PC in a crashing fall. My head hit the corner of the bed and the poor PC fell from somewhere on a tiny coffee table near the bed and incurred damage too. After that I found someone who could repair the PC but not the keyboard. The screen cannot close properly too. Anyway I postponed changing it. My head was repaired alright. But the keyboard started to show some signs of malfunction. I discovered that some alphabets refused to  respond to my typing no matter which angle or corner and with what degree of strength I tried to tap or hit. I managed to avoid using some of them by substituting words with similar meanings. But one major alphabet which cannot be substituted effectively is the alphabet “e”. I practically used all my English vocabularies to think of replacement words without “e”. The essay or blog came out nonsensical. Good for my own laugh and nothing else. Even humor is lost without the use of words with “e”. I resorted to copy and paste to temporarily put back the “e” words. Later someone lent (and then gave) me a portable keyboard, which unfortunately has broken down by now after my long voyage home. After I was finally given a MacBook I started typing with fluency and with gratitude. All the “e”s come back and are my friends again. I cannot imagine any language without the English alphabet “e” or its equivalent. try talking without it and you will know what I mean. Here is my random list of common words (without the use of a dictionary) with the alphabet “e”.

the, we, she, he, me, they, there, english, american, european, west, east, economy, money, mother, father, friend, love, hate, dare, please, success, overcome, gentle, live, positive, esteem, especially, special, heaven, eat, taste, test, experience, examination, exercises, care, help, cater, needs, mean, define, destiny, fate, relieved, belief, useful, nice, see, smell, hear, ears, eyes, enjoy, correct, address, employment, government, toilet, where, here, seven, one, three, five, eight, nine, ten, bless, yes, saved, delivered, freed, tree, glee, flee, smile, rejoice, be, mine, redeemed, healed, divine, eternity, Amen.

Moral of the story: I cannot imagine a world without the many things we have taken for granted. Even the English alphabets or any common signs and symbols human use to communicate to one another. How did human first learn to invent this? There must be an awesome inspiration from the Creator of human (with words and sounds.) (BTW, a way to appreciate the indispensability of one alphabet to the English language is to play scrabbles and remove the “e”s. Alternatively take one paragraph anywhere and delete the “e”s and see the resultant product.)

p/s: I have used English as an example as this is an English blog.

2 thoughts on “amateur nerd’s English experience: the power of “e”

Leave a comment

